Zucchini Ricotta Galette.

Full disclosure: I think I might have been a bit drunk when I made this galette. At the time I felt just a rosy hue of merry, but the photos seem just a bit fuzzier than usual, as if my camera’s lens was mimicking my own blurry view. I had some friends over on Saturday and we drank quite a bit of sangria, made from the cheap wine Paul and I had made at a wine-making place with a Groupon. The wine’s not half bad, but we just didn’t drink much of it during the winter (traditionally the time of year when I drink red wine) and so now it must become sangria wine for the summer. I’m okay with that.

Homemade wine for the third batch of sangria.

Anyways, I mixed the dough and chilled it before my friends arrived, because I knew that I wouldn’t make the pie at all if I hadn’t already completed that step. When we started to get hungry, I whipped this galette together – which is SUPER easy and comes together quickly. It did not, however, come together as quickly as our pizza delivery arrived, so most of us were pretty full by the time the galette was ready to eat. I enjoyed the leftovers the next day though, and my dear friend Clara enjoyed a slice when she came over later that night and watched the bloopers from Bridesmaids with us.

Zucchini, salted and sweating.

Zucchini, salted and sweating.

This recipe is fully taken from Smitten Kitchen. This galette is so simple that I don’t really bother much with alterations, except that I make the dough with a bit of whole wheat flour and I don’t really measure the cheeses (or lets face it, any of the ingredients).

photo (5)

This galette is essentially a delicious pastry (with sour cream, yum) that is smeared with a garlicky ricotta-mozzarella-parmesan mixture, and topped with thin slices of zucchini and a few slivers of basil. That’s it, that’s all. I made this last summer at the height of zucchini season, and it was the most perfect summer meal (except for the part where I had to turn my oven on). This time I made it with organic zucchinis from Mexico (not the same as local) and it was not quite as good (yes, Clara, I’ve made a better version of this before).

Zucchini Ricotta Galette (adapted, barely, from Smitten Kitchen)

Pastry

  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 8 tablespoons, 1 stick, or 1/2 cup salted butter, cut into cubes and chilled
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup ice water

You use the same basic method as the regular pie crust recipe to make this dough, except that the lemon juice and sour cream get whisked together with the water in a measuring cup, and added together as your liquid to moisten your dough. You could (and I have) use yogurt instead of sour cream if you don’t have sour cream on hand. I like the very slight sourness of this dough, which comes from the lemon juice and the sour cream, I guess.

Filling

  • 1 large or 2 small zucchinis, cut into thin rounds
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 grated mozzarella cheese
  • a few leaves of fresh basil, slivered
Cheese mixture about to be smeared.

Cheese mixture about to be smeared.

Sprinkle your zucchini rounds generously with salt and lay them out on some paper towel for 30 minutes or so. This will draw out a lot of the excess moisture from them, so you don’t end up with soggy, sloopy pie. Rinse off the salty water, and pat dry. Roll out your dough, and place it on a baking sheet lined with parchment. FYI, until this week I’ve been making galettes on my regular 9×13 baking pan, and they’ve been strange oblong shapes because galettes are round and my baking sheet is rectangular. Then, this week, I was like “THE PIZZA PAN” and realized that I should be making these galettes on my round pizza baking sheet (which is not a pizza stone, just a round baking sheet) and I couldn’t believe that I’d not been doing this all along. SQUARE PEG, ROUND HOLE ANYONE? Anyways, use a pizza pan if you have one, because it makes more sense! Mix the minced garlic in with the olive oil. Combine the ricotta, mozza, and parm and drizzle in half-ish of the garlic oil. Mix that up and smear that all over your galette dough. Arrange zucchini slices on top, like you’re shingling a roof (i.e. slightly overlapping). Fold up the dough to form a rustic edge. Drizzle with the remaining garlic oil on the open area and top with basil slivers. Brush the crust with an egg wash if you want, or don’t if you’re not trying to impress anyone and don’t want to waste an egg. Bake at 400 degrees for 30-40 minutes or until the crust is done to your liking and it looks like you wanna NOM it. Let cool, slice, and EAT.

photo (6)

One thought on “Zucchini Ricotta Galette.

Leave a Reply

