Asparagus, mushroom and goat cheese galette.

I’m skipping the apologies! I’ve already made excuses about why I’m behind in my blogging. I’m making an attempt to catch up now, and I just want to reiterate that I am not at all behind in my baking! So I’ve been making a pie a week just like I promised, I swear.

photo(32)

This pie is one I made up. Well, sort of. My partner’s mom sent me a link for an asparagus-goat cheese tart, and it reminded me of a side dish.  Not just any side dish – an incredible side dish, a truly amazing accompaniment. The first time I ate this side dish, I sat with my parents as we ate together and whenever we were between bites we would say things like “OH MY GOD” and “MMMmmmmmMMMMmmmmmMMMm” and “I’ve never had food this good before” and various other hyperbolic mumblings. Essentially, this side dish is seasonal asparagus roasted whole, topped with sauteed mushrooms and red peppers and tarragon-crusted rounds of goat cheese, and then roasted a bit more, until the goat cheese softens in this amazing way. I distinctly remember saying during that first time I ate this side “I don’t believe that anybody who doesn’t like goat cheese could possibly like food as much as we do”. I now realize that is probably a very unfair and untrue statement, but in that moment it was like “how could anyone choose not to eat this?!”.  The recipe seems almost exactly this one, except that we always put the mushroom mixture and the goat cheese on the asparagus in the pan and roasted for a few more minutes. That step is very, very worth it. This is all to say that I took the concept behind that salad and pie-ified it.

photo(33)

These days, with this pie project, everywhere I look I see pie. I have to think about pie all the time (life is sooo hard, amiright?) and need to take pie into account when I’m grocery shopping. At the start of this project, this was a bit hard. But now…Ontario produce is turning up at markets seemingly faster than I can keep up, and my canning stress is already starting to set in (how have I not made rhubarb-rosemary jam yet? I have to hurry or it will be too late!). When I saw the first asparagus of the season at the market I swooned, and knew that I had to find a way to let it shine in a pie.

photo(34)

Asparagus, Mushroom and Goat Cheese Galette (adapted, sort of, from here)

  • one galette dough
  • a small bunch of asparagus
  • 5-6 good sized cremini mushrooms
  • 1/2 to 2/3 small log of goat cheese
  • 1/4-1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • sour cream or yogurt
  • lemon juice
  • salt and pepper and any other spices you want
  • 1-2 good size garlic cloves

Chop the asparagus into spears about 1.5-2 inches long. Slice and sauté the mushrooms and set aside. Combine goat cheese, a few dollops of sour cream/yogurt, a splash of lemon juice, minced garlic, and salt, pepper, and spices in a bowl. You want it to be essentially the texture of ricotta cheese.

photo(35)

Roll out your galette dough and place on the parchment-lined pan you’re going to bake it on (reminder: PIZZA PAN MAKES SENSE). Spread the goat cheese-yogurt mixture all over the bottom, leaving room for the edges to fold up. Arrange the asparagus on top of the goat cheese mixture. Spread the mushrooms on top of that. Crumble some extra goat cheese on top, and sprinkle with grated parmesan. Bake at 400 for 30-40 minutes or until crust is golden. Eat and swoon. Repeat.

photo(36)

Leave a Reply

