Strawberry Cream Cheese Galette.

I made this pie over the Canada Day long weekend. Yes, that means this post is a month too late. I quit my 9-5 job recently, and as such I am hopefully going to have a lot more free time during the mornings and other parts of the day where I tend to be more productive (i.e. after 5pm? Not a productive time for me).

IMG_1289

Anyway, if you are Canadian, you may get a distinct sense that this pie is vaguely patriotic. It bears a small resemblance to all those various flag cakes and whatnot that people make on these national holidays, that showcase the colours of one’s national flag. I did not really intend for this pie to be an act of patriotism, though. I wanted to make something like this, I had the strawberries (nearing their end of season, I thought at the time – they seem to still be kicking though!) – the timing was right. I’m not a particularly patriotic person. Well, scratch that. That’s not entirely accurate. I love living in Canada, for all kinds of reasons – universal health care, the beautiful land and diversity of climates and ecosystems, the legality of same-sex marriage, and women’s relative reproductive freedom. Yes, I love these things. But I don’t like heralding my country with this sort of blind-optimism that national holidays tend to require – it usually feels like the sentiment is “Canada is the best! There is absolutely nothing wrong here! This place is amazing and our country is better than yours and I’M SO PROUD!”. With all that yelling, it can be hard to hear the people who are saying that our government has been toying with a two-tiered health care system for as long as I can remember, that this land is STOLEN and OCCUPIED land that I should not have any right to, that queer and trans folks still endure all kinds of hate and bullshit, that our current federal government continues to try and find little ways of bringing the abortion debate back to the table. So sometimes nationalism can seem a bit much to me. But sometimes then I remember that it is because I love living here that I want this place to be better. For everyone. 

Giant flag at the Canada Day Blue Jays baseball game I was at. Subtle.

Giant flag at the Canada Day Blue Jays baseball game I was at. Subtle.

But whoa, I digress. This is all to say: THIS PIE IS RED AND WHITE AND I ATE IT ON CANADA DAY.

IMG_1291

This pie is essentially a giant danish, and I love it for that. I made it up myself, it is adapted from nobody, and I gotta say, I effing loved it.

IMG_1293

Strawberry Cream Cheese Galette.

  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup icing sugar
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. tapioca starch
  • 1 cup strawberries, sliced
  • 2 Tbsp. white sugar
  • 1 single crust pie dough
  • 1 egg, beaten with a bit of water, for glaze
  • coarse sugar, to sprinkle on pastry (optional)

Combine softened cream cheese with icing sugar. In a large glass measuring cup, mix together the strawberries, white sugar, and tapioca starch.

Roll out pastry into a large circle. Spread the cream cheese-sugar mixture in a circle in the middle of the dough. Top with the strawberry mixture. Fold up dough edges to make a rustic circle. Brush pastry with egg, and sprinkle with coarse sugar.

Bake at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes, or until the crust is browned and the fruit filling is a bit bubbly.

IMG_1294

Devour, with coffee, with anything, and thank me later.

IMG_1295

Leave a Reply

