Mushroom & Garlic Scape Quiche.

I hereby introduce the second quiche of this pie project! I can’t believe I’ve only made two quiches so far. Unless I’m mis-remembering, am I? For some reason the fact that this is only my second quiche feels impressive to me. Not in the sense that I’ve resisted the deliciousness of quiche (I never resist deliciousness, nor should you), but in the sense that quiche is kind of the easy way out when it comes to pie creation. I mean, quiche still requires about the same amount of work as other pies, but for me at least, I find that quiche doesn’t demand the same amount of creativity. I always have eggs (and the best eggs, courtesy of my CSA) which means that I pretty much can make a quiche anytime. All it requires is finding a couple of other things to throw into it from the fridge – cheese, a veggie or two, maybe an herb or something. But it’s pretty easy because really? I think everything goes with eggs. So I am considering it a victory that out of 14 pies, only 2 have been quiches so far.

Mushrooms for the quiche, carrot for the chef.

Mushrooms for the quiche, carrot for the chef.

I am considering this quiche a victory in another respect as well. Perhaps you remember my other quiche? It was early in this project, and I wrote about how stressful I can find quiches to be – trying to figure out when the egg is actually cooked in there, without overdoing it. But this quiche? This beautiful mushroom quiche peppered with garlic scapes? I cooked it perfectly, and it wasn’t even stressful. I wish I could tell you why it was easier this time, but I don’t have the answers.

IMG_1353

This quiche was simple, and amazing. It was basically a classic mushroom quiche, but with the added spunk of garlic scapes and some really good cheese.  You should have it for dinner.

IMG_1355

Mushroom & Garlic Scape Quiche – recipe by me. 

  • Mushrooms – lots of them. I’d say 3/4 of a pound? I used portobellos, but you can use whatever mushroom you’d prefer.
  • 2-3 garlic scapes. If you don’t have scapes (you must not have a CSA, I am going to be buried alive in them) you could substitute leeks and garlic, or just garlic.
  • 6 good eggs
  • 3 Tbsp. sour cream or plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup water
  • approximately 1 cup of really good strong, hard cheese, grated. We used a great aged Gruyere and some Parmesan.
  • 1 single crust recipe pie dough, ideally with some whole wheat flour included.
  • salt, freshly ground pepper, and any herbs you might like.

Roll out your pie dough and put it in your pie plate. Trim and crimp edges. Chill.

Chop your scapes really finely – I tried to mash mine with a mortar and pestle but it didn’t work that well, so I just chopped finely for a few minutes with a little bit of salt to help break it up. I wanted to end up with almost a paste, but if you are okay with bigger pieces of scape in your quiche, you don’t need to go that far. Slice up your mushrooms and sauté with the scapes in some olive oil and butter. While they are sautéing, sprinkle with a bit of salt, grind some pepper, and season with any herbs you like – basil, thyme, chili flakes, whatever! Once cooked, remove from heat and set aside.

IMG_1357

Put the sour cream in a liquid measuring cup, add some water, and whisk around until you have a uniform liquid consistency. You could use cream or milk instead of sour cream + water, but I almost always have yogurt or sour cream on hand, and don’t always have milk/cream. Also, we decided that part of why this quiche might have been so good was because of the sour cream. Remove your pie crust from the fridge, and put the sautéed mushrooms and scapes into it, spreading to cover the bottom. Beat your eggs in with the sour cream mixture and add 2/3 of the grated cheese. Pour the egg mixture over the mushrooms in your pie plate. Sprinkle with the remaining cheese. Protect your pie crust edge with tinfoil.

Almost perfect, except for that dented crust on one side.

Almost perfect, except for that dented crust on one side.

Bake at 375 for 45 minutes to an hour, checking frequently. Remove the tin foil during the last 5-10 minutes of baking. I like to broil my quiche for a minute or two at the end, to get the cheese on top all browned and crispy. Great for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

IMG_1363

Leave a Reply

