Roasted Summer Vegetable Galette.

When I ate this pie, I said out loud: “I think this might be the best pie I’ve ever made”.

Now, you should know that I’ve said that before, and I’ve probably said it since, but you can be sure that really, what it means is: I can find no flaws with this pie. I mean, I make a lot of pies (one a week, in case you haven’t noticed), but I can usually find flaws. That’s not a bad thing – this would be a pretty boring project if I thought that every pie was perfect – no room to improve, no challenge. But I have lots of little flaws – not things that make the pie unlovable, just little quirks: a leaky crust, a dented pie edge, a soggy bottom. But, much like with people, if I really love the pie, I can’t find any flaws worth mentioning.

IMG_1461

I made this pie at the very end of July, almost a month ago. I’m working on catching up on my blogging, I promise. But the great thing about this recipe is that everything that I used for this pie – things that were just starting to be in season here in Ontario – are still around, and better than ever. Sometimes I wonder whether I would appreciate fresh local produce as much as I do if I lived somewhere that had this kind of bounty year-round. Maybe I’m just really Canadian (whatever that might mean) but I sort of feel like having to wait all through the winter for the good stuff makes it better. Seriously, in like April, this is basically how I feel about the upcoming fruit and veggie season. Anyways, make this pie before our beautiful summer veggies are gone.

Bounty.

Bounty.

Roasted Summer Vegetable Galette – adapted from nobody, recipe by me. 

  • one single crust pastry recipe
  • one small eggplant, or half a larger one – peeled and sliced into strips or however you’d prefer
  • half or all of one yellow pepper (halved)
  • one small yellow zucchini, or half a larger one – thinly sliced into matchsticks or half moons (I find that smaller pieces worked better in this)
  • 1/3 cup sour cream or yogurt
  • good feta (if you live in Toronto I can’t say enough about how much I’m in love with the Macedonian feta from the cheese counter at Fiesta Farms)
  • fresh basil, if you have it
  • approx. 1 tsp. of lemon juice
  • salt and pepper and chili flakes, if that’s your bag
  • one egg, for the egg wash (optional)

Roast the eggplant and the yellow pepper until they are deliciously silky and will have all that good roasty flavour – I just usually roast them in olive oil with a bit of salt, pepper, and sometimes chili flakes. Let cool a bit and then chop the pepper into smaller chunks. Combine the sour cream with a good bunch of feta (this is to taste, I use a lot) and add a squeeze of lemon juice and a pinch of salt. You want this to come together into a sort of thick paste – it will form the saucy base of the galette.

IMG_1458

Roll our your pastry into a rough circle. Place it on a parchment lined baking sheet or pizza pan. Spread the sour cream-feta mixture on the pastry, in a circle that will be where your toppings will go. Add the eggplant, then the pepper, trying to evenly distribute them throughout the galette.

IMG_1459

Add the zucchini (which should still be raw). Sprinkle with some more feta crumbles, some slivers of basil, and grind some black pepper on top if you’d like. Fold up the sides of the galette to make your pie. Brush the crust with an egg wash if you want. Bake at about 375 for 25-40 minutes, or until the crust is browned and the filling looks good. You can broil it for a few minutes at the end if it seems done but you want it to be more browned.

IMG_1460

We ate this with a really simple salad of grape tomatoes, cucumber, and avocado. It was the summer-iest, and I recommend something that makes you feel similarly.

IMG_1463

One thought on “Roasted Summer Vegetable Galette.

  1. Pingback: Adventures in Failure: Tex Mex Galette. | a pie a week for a year

Leave a Reply

