Adventures in Failure: Tex Mex Galette.

Look, when you set out to make 52 pies, not all of them are going to be declared to be the best pie you’ve ever made. Some of them will be completely inedible. And I won’t be surprised if more fall into the category that this one did: not terrible enough to throw out, but really, really not very good.

Salsa, refried beans, sweet potato. Why did I do this?!

Salsa, refried beans, sweet potato. Why did I do this?!

Truthfully? I wasn’t surprised. This was very much a “shit-I-have-to-make-a-pie-before-we-go-away-maybe-i’ll-try-this-weird-idea-that-means-i-won’t-have-to-get-groceries” pie.  I mean, Tex Mex Galette? That really could go either way. On the one hand, I love burritos and tacos and all things with refried beans, and if they go in tortillas then why not a pie crust? One the other hand, there’s got to be a really good reason that people everywhere aren’t eating tex mex pies. HEY LET’S TRY IT!

It really looks like it should be delicious.

It really looks like it should be delicious.

Hey, let’s not make this again.

I’m not even going to share the recipe, it’s not worth it, and also you can pretty much imagine it for yourselves. I basically put refried beans, sweet potato, and all your other standard burrito fixings inside of a galette, and then ate it with sour cream and avocado on top. There was cheddar cheese in it, which melted into an insane puddle of grease on not one, but two baking sheets (I panicked and put it on a new cookie sheet halfway through baking, worried that it would drown in oil). The end result had this kind of acidic aftertaste that got you at the back of the throat. But really? It was just wrong. It just wasn’t meant to be. Which is really just fine, because I love tortillas and other fine flatbreads.

Why aren't you a taco?

Why aren’t you a taco?

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

Now, I don’t want to leave you totally sad about not getting another pie recipe to make for yourselves. To cheer you up, let me share this lovely drawing that my partner made ages ago, and that I’ve been meaning to share with you for weeks and weeks and weeks.

Pie Guy.

Pie Guy.

Leave a Reply

