Burst Tomato, Zucchini, and Sweet Corn Galette.

This pie screams August.  Deb over at Smitten Kitchen posted this recipe while I was away in Portland, and when I got back and saw it I knew that it really needed no adaptations. So I didn’t make any. I mean, I used my own pastry recipe (though I can attest that her galette dough, with the lemon juice and sour cream, is really good). If I made this again, I think I would try it with a different cheese, because the parmesan was a kind of mellow in this, and I think I’d like it with some feta, or goat cheese, or maybe ricotta instead. But I have no complaints. Her recipe is great, and I encourage you all to make it before the corn is gone.

IMG_1694

What’s smart about this recipe is that you cook the tomatoes a bit in a pan before you bake your galette – otherwise they would burst in the oven, and all those tomato juices would lead to a very wet and leaky pie. This way, most of the juices escape in the pan, and get cooked down a bit into a bit of a thicker gravy, if you will. I think this burst-tomato concept would work just as well with other accompanying vegetables, which makes me happy because cherry or grape tomatoes are basically the only variety of fresh tomato that I will buy here in the off-season. You can still get small tomatoes like that here in the winter, that are local, and have likely been grown in a hothouse, and they are pretty good. I might try a variation of this pie out in the colder months, because little cherry tomatoes can go a long way when you’ve been relying on cruciferous and root vegetables for months (i LOVE cruciferous vegetables, in case that made you think otherwise).

IMG_1695

Burst Tomato, Zucchini, and Sweet Corn Galette – from Smitten Kitchen

  • one single crust pastry recipe, or Smitten Kitchen’s galette dough recipe
  • 1 pint of cherry or grape tomatoes
  • 1 ear of corn, sliced off the cob
  • about half of a large zucchini, or 1 small one, diced
  • 3-4 green onions, sliced
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan, or another cheese of your choice (I don’t recommend cheddar, after the melty-oil fiasco of the Tex Mex Galette)
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper and chili flakes, if you’re into that
  • one egg, beaten, for the egg wash (optional)

IMG_1698

Heat a pan with some olive oil and add the tomatoes. Cover the pan, because those babies are going to burst and you don’t want them shooting hot tomato juice all over yourself or your kitchen. You can stir occasionally, if you’d like. You’ll hear them start to pop in the pan, and once most of them have burst and are leaking their juices, you can remove the lid. Add the zucchini and cook for a few minutes. Season with salt, pepper, chili flakes, or any other spices you might like. Add the corn and cook for 1 minute, then mix in the green onions and remove from heat. Pour the vegetables onto a plate to cool for 20 minutes or so.

IMG_1700

When your filling has cooled, get out your dough and roll it out into a large circle. Transfer to a parchment lined baking sheet. Spoon your filling onto the pastry. Sprinkle with most of the parmesan cheese. Fold up the pastry edges to make a rustic pie. Brush with the egg wash, and sprinkle the remaining parmesan on the pastry (cheese crust!). Bake at 400 for 30-40 minutes, or until bubbly and well browned. Eat that delicious pie and savour the last breaths of summer.

IMG_1703

Leave a Reply

