End of Summer Galette.

This galette is basically the lovechild of last week’s burst tomato pie and last month’s summer vegetable pie. I mean, I guess it’s much more like the second one, because the only thing really linking it to the burst tomato pie is the presence of corn. I hope that some of you are starting to go “Hey, this pie is just a bunch of vegetables thrown in a crust! That doesn’t seem that fancy!” – because it’s true! Pie doesn’t have to be fancy! Pie can (and should) be the vehicle for those nights when you don’t know what to have for dinner but have a bunch of vegetables in your fridge and don’t know what to do with them. It is seriously so easy to just cook up some veggies, slap em in a galette crust, and bake it with maybe some cheese. An unplanned dinner that tastes like something you spent lots of time thinking about and making? Best.

IMG_1717

But I am sorry if any of your are bored by the fact that I’ve posted a few very similar galettes in the last few weeks. I can’t help it! Keep in mind that I actually am EATING all of these pies, and I gotta give my belly what it wants – which is delicious summer veggies in a flaky crust, ideally with that feta I’ve told you about. I’ve called this pie an “end of summer galette”, because I made it at the start of Labour Day weekend. The thing I love about not being in school (or working in a school right now, since I’m a teacher) is that Labour Day weekend doesn’t mean a whole lot to me – except that in September a lot of things I might like to do will be far less crowded since so many people will have decided that summer is over. That said, I’m also never sad about summer ending. Autumn is really the best. This morning I woke up and put on a summer dress (actually it was my “house dress” which is a dress I wear like sweatpants all summer indoors and never wear out) but soon got quite chilly. I then said to Paul “I need socks and a sweater!” and very literally clapped my hands with glee while I said it. I’m going to dig out one of our afghans today to cozy under. IT’S ALL SO EXCITING.

IMG_1727

I’m sure you summer lovers are really groaning right now, but I can’t help it. Fall is the best and I don’t even hate winter either, I kind of love it. I am almost positive that summer is my least favourite season, except for all the awesome local fruits and vegetables. So anyways, this is all to say that while it’s not quite the end of summer yet (as this galette would suggest) it’s true that I may already be dancing on summer’s grave, celebrating its demise with pie.

End of Summer Galette – adapted from nobody, created by me. 

  • one single crust pastry
  • one small to medium eggplant
  • one red pepper
  • 1-2 ears of corn, cut off the cob
  • good feta
  • salt, pepper, and fresh basil if you have it
  • one egg, beaten for the egg wash (optional)
  • sesame seeds (optional)

Peel your eggplant and cut into smallish pieces, drizzle with a bit of olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Cut your red pepper in half, remove seeds and white membranes, and rub both sides with olive oil. Place in a roasting pan with the eggplant. Roast veggies at 400 for 20-30 minutes. The eggplant may be done before the pepper is really softened, so you can remove the eggplant to a plate when its cooked. When done, let the pepper cool and then cut into small pieces.

IMG_1741

egg washin’.

Meanwhile, sauté the corn in a pan with a bit of butter or olive oil for 3-5 minutes. Remove from heat. Crumble some feta into a small bowl.

When the eggplant, pepper and corn have cooled a bit (so that they are lukewarm but not hot), roll out your galette dough. Transfer to a parchment lined baking sheet. Spread the eggplant, then pepper, then corn onto the galette dough. Sprinkle with some shreds of torn basil and the crumbled feta. Fold up the dough edges to form a rustic circle, trying to make sure that you seal it so that there are no leaky edges. Brush the dough with the egg wash. On a whim, this time I decided to sprinkle the crust with sesame seeds after the egg wash. It was delicious. The presence of both the sesame seeds and the feta made me feel like I was eating spanakopita, and it seemed like my pastry was more flaky, almost like phyllo. Maybe sesame seeds someone make your pastry more flaky. Either way, I highly recommend this addition. Bake at 400 for 30 minutes or so, until done. DEVOUR.

IMG_1743

don’t mind if i do.

Leave a Reply

