Tomato Corn Pie.

Guys, I’m almost halfway done this project. That seems crazy! It hasn’t even felt all that difficult so far, pie is just a part of my regular life routine now (which, by the way, is pretty great). This is my 23rd pie of this project. Technically it’s my 24th pie of this project, since you’ll remember that I made two peach pies, but I’m counting those as only one for the purposes of this. This means I have 3 more pies to make before I’m halfway. That will bring us basically right up to Thanksgiving, and you can expect some special Thanksgiving-related posts, to be sure.

IMG_1803

But back to this pie. I’ve looked at this recipe several times over the last three or four years, but never made it until yesterday. I always noticed it at the wrong time – it requires both fresh tomatoes and fresh corn, and sometimes I forgot about this recipe until the season for both had passed. Sometimes it was a year where corn and tomatoes didn’t really overlap much in Ontario – we’ve had some weird weather over the past few years, and some rough summers for farmers. Last week we got a lot of corn in our CSA and I had a end-of-summer harvest party to attend on Sunday evening, so it only made sense to pick up some tomatoes and make this happen.

IMG_1804

The dough in this pie is slightly different than normal pie crust – it’s more like a biscuit. It’s a little less buttery, a little less stretchy, but it’s perfect for this kind of pie. Because it’s also kind of a drier dough, I found that it was actually easy to roll it out if it wasn’t ice cold, which is kind of nice when you are trying to work quickly and don’t want to waste time chilling your dough. I was really organized making this pie – I had all my ingredients prepped and measured out before I made the dough, and so it came together really quickly when it came time to assembling. Perhaps a little too quickly – I realized a few hours later that I had forgotten an ingredient. This pie was supposed to have a lemony-mayonnaise sauce type thing that you pour on top before putting on the top crust. I love mayo, but this sounds pretty gross even to me, but it also wasn’t a huge amount of mayo and it was the only sauce-like substance in this pie, so I figured it would act as more of a binding agent than anything else. Well, I forgot it. And you know what? It totally didn’t need it. I’ll include it here for you to see anyways, but I think its unnecessary. If I wanted a sauce with this (which it doesn’t need) I think I’d be more likely to mix up a lemony-sour cream to dollop on top.

IMG_1806

I brought this to a Sunday evening potluck and I gotta say, it was a hit.

Tomato Corn Pie – adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Crust

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 TBSP baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 6 TBSP butter
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 TBSP melted butter

Filling

  • 1/3 cup mayo mixed with 2 TBSP lemon juice (optional, i forgot it)
  • ~ 2 lbs. roma/plum tomatoes –  cored, peeled and sliced
  • 3 ears worth of cut corn
  • 5-10 leaves of basil, torn
  • 2 green onions, finely chopped
  • ~ 1 1/2 cups of grated cheddar
  • salt and freshly ground pepper

Make the crust the way you would with normal pastry – stir together the dry ingredients, cut in butter, then add the milk as your liquid, combining until it just forms a dough. Divide into two equal pieces.

IMG_1807

Roll out your bottom crust and pat into pie plate. Trim edges to leave 1 inch overhang. Layer half of the tomatoes around the bottom of the crust. Sprinkle with half the corn, half the basil, half the green onions, a shake of salt and a grind of pepper, and top with half the cheese. Repeat the layers, using up the rest of your tomatoes, corn, herbs, and cheese. If you are using the mayo sauce, drizzle that over the top of your pie filling now. Roll out the top crust and transfer to the pie. Trim edges to the diameter of your pie plate. Fold bottom crust overhang over the top crust, pinching to close around the edges. Crimp crust. Cut steam vents in the top crust (at least 4). Brush top crust with melted butter and then protect pie edge with tin foil.

IMG_1808

Bake at 400 for 30-35 minutes, removing the tin foil for the last 10, and turning up to broil for a minute or two at the very end to brown your top crust. Let cool slightly, and serve warm or at room temperature.

IMG_1809

2 thoughts on “Tomato Corn Pie.

Leave a Reply

