Squash and Caramelized Onion Galette.

This is a pie I’ve made before. I’ve even blogged about it before, way back here. It’s (perhaps unsurprisingly) a Smitten Kitchen recipe, and it really does taste like autumn in a pie. This time, however, I omitted something that I previously would have felt was in-omittable – the fresh sage. Now, I love fresh sage. It tastes like Thanksgiving and it goes so well with buttery things. But I also find it very overpowering, and sometimes I find it makes my tongue feel numb. Also, I don’t have a sage plant, and buying a pack of fresh sage to use only a few leaves seems so wasteful, so this time I just skipped it.

I did use dried sage, but it’s much subtler, and in some ways I really liked that.

IMG_1838

All you really need for this pie is a few onions, your pastry, a small squash and a good, hard cheese. Almost every time I’ve made this I’ve made it with a really firm gruyere – called Gruyere de Grotte – and it is delicious. But you can use any cheese you like!

Squash and Caramelized Onion Galette – adapted, ever so slightly, from Smitten Kitchen

  • one single crust pastry
  • one small squash of your choosing
  • 3 small or 2 large onions, sliced into half moons
  • fresh or dried sage, or other spices to your liking
  • 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup of cheese, cut into small cubes
  • butter or oil for sautéing
  • one egg, beaten, for egg wash (optional)

Peel your squash and remove the seeds, then cut it into 1 inch dice. Roast in a 400 degree oven until tender but not too soft. Meanwhile, melt butter in a pan (cast iron if you have it) and sauté your onions slowly over medium heat. Lots of recipes for caramelizing onions call for you to add a bit of sugar but this is unnecessary – it’s kind of cheating actually. I do it sometimes, but really I find that if you have the time to cook the onions slowly that they will release more of their own sugars and they will be so much better. Season the onions with salt and pepper and sage, or other spices. Cook until they are all soft and browned and delicious. Remove from heat and set aside. When your squash is done roasting, let it cool slightly so that it isn’t super hot when it goes onto your pastry.

IMG_1839

Roll out your pastry into a rough circle. Transfer to a parchment lined baking sheet. Pile your onions in a circle in the middle, followed by the squash and then the cheese. Fold up the edges of the pastry, brush with egg (optional) and bake at 375 for 30-40 minutes, until the crust is golden brown.

This is one of those times when I made something and forgot to take photos. Bad blogger! All I have is the photo of the squash and a bad photo of my onions in the pan. I can assure you though that the finished product was beautiful and delicious. You’ll just have to make it and see for yourself.

Leave a Reply

